War! What is it good for?

Standard

SN851344

I read this on someone else’s page…

My hat’s off to this lady!!!!!!
This nineteen-year-old ex-cheerleader (now an Air Force Security Forces Sniper) was watching a road that led to a NATO military base when she observed a man digging by the road. She engaged the target (i.e., she shot him). Turned out he was a bomb maker for the Taliban and he was burying an IED that was to be detonated when a US patrol walked by 30 minutes later. It would have certainly killed and wounded several soldiers.

The interesting fact of this story is the shot was measured at 725 yards. She shot him as he was bent over burying the bomb. The shot went through his butt and into the bomb, which detonated; he was blown to pieces. The Air Force made a motivational poster of her:

(Folks, that’s a shot 25 yards longer than seven football fields!)

I didn’t want to be negative on her page because she obviously thought this was a good thing, but this has bothered me for two days. We are on THEIR land. THEY are trying to protect THEIR land and THEIR families. We have killed tens of thousands of their civilians. How do they know he was from the Taliban, they didn’t stop to ask. It’s a nice cover though. Our military is voluntary. I think that if the tables were turned everyone would complain about the sniper. But even further, the people that hail the girl tend to consider themselves Christian, and all I think is, “what would Jesus say?” or “Thou shall not kill” or what about, “Do unto others as you would have others do unto you.”

About Ryn Cricket

When I talk to people, I always hear, "I always wanted to do that," or "You're so lucky!" I NEVER want to be the person who says those things. I am not lucky, I make things work. I don't think "I want to do that." I do it. When I was in the seventh grade I wanted to do three things when I grew up, I wanted to be an English teacher, a writer and a mother. All of that traveling, adventure, and Peace Corps was just research for what was to come. After more than twenty years of being told I would never be able to have children, I had two beautiful baby girls, a year and a half apart. I spend some of my time teaching English in Shanghai, China, and the rest of my time, inspiring my two little girls, or being inspired by writing at the writers’ workshop I call “home.”

Leave a Reply

