Maternity leave –for real?

Standard

And another thing…

SN851238

How is it that America is one of only 5 countries in the world that does NOT have a maternity leave policy. Talk about “No child left behind!” Apparently babies in their first few weeks of life don’t count.

I did take out short-term disability insurance, which is how we get maternity leave and keep our insurance. My policy said 27 weeks. I was pretty happy with that. However, after Rumi was born, they informed me that it is only 6. No where in any of the forms or papers did it say 6 weeks, so I questioned them about it. The customer service woman said that 27 weeks was the maximum, and that since I recovered so well, I only get 6 weeks, and “Bonding with your baby is NOT a medical issue” –Her exact words.

Virtually no daycare takes a baby at 6 weeks. the ones that do charge at least $175 a week! And I am absolutely NOT ready to hand her over to anyone right now. Look at that face? Wouldn’t you want to spend more time with her? Would you be willing to hand her over to a stranger for 5 hours a day costing you most of your paycheck?

America really needs to step up to the plate and place a priority on the children in this country –especially in their first few years of life when they need it the most. Third world countries have better plans than we do. How can we let ourselves fall behind in an issue that is so important.


About Ryn Cricket

When I talk to people, I always hear, "I always wanted to do that," or "You're so lucky!" I NEVER want to be the person who says those things. I am not lucky, I make things work. I don't think "I want to do that." I do it. When I was in the seventh grade I wanted to do three things when I grew up, I wanted to be an English teacher, a writer and a mother. All of that traveling, adventure, and Peace Corps was just research for what was to come. After more than twenty years of being told I would never be able to have children, I had two beautiful baby girls, a year and a half apart. I spend some of my time teaching English in Shanghai, China, and the rest of my time, inspiring my two little girls, or being inspired by writing at the writers’ workshop I call “home.”

Leave a Reply

