Getting what you need

Standard

Best Case Scenario…

SN851074

Having received several compliments this week, I’d like to explain how to reach a best-case scenario.  I was told I was my co-worker’s inspiration for the picture of health.  I was told by my mid-wife that I am her favorite because she really only needs to show up to sign the birth certificate.  And I was told by a friend, “every time I call you you are doing great.  You don’t complain like other pregnant women.”

Now, besides the kitchen cleaning that I mentioned before, and the years of yoga, there are a few other factors in having this “textbook” pregnancy.  And a few secrets that I definitely don’t mind sharing.  The first one is –Supplements.  I take a few supplements that have created a healthy stability in a body that is in a taxing situation.  I do NOT take pre-natal vitamins.  They are loaded with too much iron, and I don’t need that.  My blood work has proved it.

What I take regularly is chewable vitamin C.  –You cannot overdose on this, so I may take up to 2000 mg a day.  I haven’t had a cold, sore throat or anything through this pregnancy.  When I was at 7 weeks I had a horrible ear infection.  It caused my whole face to swell, and I couldn’t open my mouth to eat.  I have a student who is a pharmacist (who swears against all medications!) HE is the one who suggested vitamin C–and within an hour I was a lot better.  Then we looked up Linus Pauling’s research on Vitamin C and have since made it a daily supplement.

In addition to that, I take acidophilus for digestive enzymes, folic acid and B complex (mainly because I am pregnant)   and garlic occasionally as a natural antibiotic.  Also, I take 5htp –which is an amazing mood stabilizer and it has the wonderful side-effects of keeping your cells younger, and keeping your sex-drive healthy.  I have not had those moody  times that you always hear about with pregnancy.  No crying out of the blue, no anger…pretty stable and happy, which has to be good for Rumi (our baby).

And lastly, coconut oil, as a supplement, as a cooking oil, and in my bath.  I cannot say enough about coconut oil.  It keeps everything smooth and regular as far as digestion and bowels, I have no stretch marks, and it is just all around wonderful.  When I breast feed, I will use it to keep my breasts supple also.

Beyond supplements, I have a great husband and a great job, so stress is at a minimum.  I am encouraged to nap when I feel necessary, and eat when and what I feel necessary.  No guilt.  Our sex-life is very active and creative which keeps me grounded.  And my co-workers and supervisors at work are just the best.  Of course, so are my students.  The only worry we have had lately, is money, but who doesn’t, really?

I worked very hard to get where I am, and I am extremely happy to see myself reaping the benefits.  And I would love to help out others.  Take care of your health, don’t be afraid to take that perfect job even if the money is less, and flirt with that person even if it scares you or you think they are out of your league…You might get exactly what you were wishing for.


About Ryn Cricket

When I talk to people, I always hear, "I always wanted to do that," or "You're so lucky!" I NEVER want to be the person who says those things. I am not lucky, I make things work. I don't think "I want to do that." I do it. When I was in the seventh grade I wanted to do three things when she grew up, I wanted to be an English teacher, a writer and a mother. All of that traveling, adventure, and Peace Corps was just research for what was to come. After more than twenty years of being told I would never be able to have children, I had two beautiful baby girls, a year and a half apart. I spend some of my time teaching English in Shanghai, China, and the rest of my time, inspiring my two little girls, or being inspired by writing at the writers’ workshop I call “home.”

Leave a Reply

