The legal right to life.

Standard

SN851498Suppose you were five months pregnant and your baby died.  Devastated, depressed, and confused, you go to your ob/gyn who says that they are sorry, but you must continue carrying the dead baby until your body delivers it –whenever that will be.  In fact, every doctor you go to says the same thing.  Why? Because it’s considered a late-term abortion, and only five doctors in America could perform them –well, now there are four.

What if your ten year-old niece comes up to you can’t understand why she’s getting “fat.”  She has no idea about pregnancy, or how what her father has been doing to her has effected her.  By the time you realize what has happened, she’s past the sixteen-week deadline for an abortion.

What if you found out you had terminal cancer and you were going to be a single mom.  Maybe you didn’t even have health insurance.  What if you didn’t find out you had this cancer until 25 weeks into your pregnancy.  The doctors say you may die before you can give birth.

These are the cases that came to Dr. George Tiller.  They came from neighboring states, they came from hundreds of miles because there was no one else to go to.

Abortion has turned into both a religious and legal issue.  It’s neither.  It’s a medical issue.  This is not a casual decision some woman makes as she’s walking past the clinic and thinks “Hey, maybe I’ll try that.”  No one pickets outside of plastic surgery clinics when people elect to recreate their nose, or enlarge their breasts.  This was what God gave them, but apparently they don’t care.  Somehow, this is not an issue.

I can’t think of a situation when I would decide to have an abortion.  No matter how I am financially, and probably physically.  But is it my right to tell a woman she must carry a dead baby inside her?  I had a friend go through that, and I wouldn’t wish her agony on anyone.

Dr. Tiller was caring for his patients.  He believed in the rights of women.  He understood the gravity of their decisions.  Many of these fringe anti-abortionists feel that killing a professional man with a family, in a church, is somehow justifiable.  You don’t hear his patients complaining.  You don’t hear his friends and family talking about how evil he is.  Just total strangers thinking they are a greater judge than God in deciding what is right and wrong for other total strangers.

This is out and out terrorism.  No different than the Ku Klux Klan.  Lynch mobs terrorizing and killing a specific group of people they don’t like.  Dr. Tiller was a professional doctor, doing his job legally, and allowing his patients to exercise their legal rights.  We have freedoms with logical and legal foundations.  We need to protect those freedoms for everyone

About Ryn Cricket

When I talk to people, I always hear, "I always wanted to do that," or "You're so lucky!" I NEVER want to be the person who says those things. I am not lucky, I make things work. I don't think "I want to do that." I do it. When I was in the seventh grade I wanted to do three things when she grew up, I wanted to be an English teacher, a writer and a mother. All of that traveling, adventure, and Peace Corps was just research for what was to come. After more than twenty years of being told I would never be able to have children, I had two beautiful baby girls, a year and a half apart. I spend some of my time teaching English in Shanghai, China, and the rest of my time, inspiring my two little girls, or being inspired by writing at the writers’ workshop I call “home.”

Leave a Reply

