Bake Sales and Car Washes

Standard

Heather Sherpa had just graduated from nursing school this June and was now back home in the process of looking for a job. One day, as she was working out at the gym, a lonely, desperate, demented man walked into the gym, took out a gun and started randomly shooting all of the women in the room –I’m sure you heard about this. Heather was shot in the leg and a bullet actually hit her tooth –talk about a brush with death, right? Heather, the soon-to-be-nurse, in transition between college and her first job had no insurance to cover her gunshot wounds, rehabilitation and other medical costs, so her friends got together and held a car wash to help her pay for these expenses. Now a lot of Americans may think, “Ohhh, that’s so sweet,” but really, it’s completely ridiculous! Only in America do we accept the idea of holding a car wash, a bake sale, or a spaghetti dinner to help someone pay for an accident or cancer treatment.SN851981

About Ryn Cricket

When I talk to people, I always hear, "I always wanted to do that," or "You're so lucky!" I NEVER want to be the person who says those things. I am not lucky, I make things work. I don't think "I want to do that." I do it. When I was in the seventh grade I wanted to do three things when she grew up, I wanted to be an English teacher, a writer and a mother. All of that traveling, adventure, and Peace Corps was just research for what was to come. After more than twenty years of being told I would never be able to have children, I had two beautiful baby girls, a year and a half apart. I spend some of my time teaching English in Shanghai, China, and the rest of my time, inspiring my two little girls, or being inspired by writing at the writers’ workshop I call “home.”

Leave a Reply

