“When I get bigger…”

Standard

My daughter Rumi Li is a very talkative, precocious two year-old, who is obsessed with being “bigger.” “When I get bigger, I’ll type.” That’s how it started. She said this every time she saw us typing –or anyone typing for that matter. Then it began to grow.

“When I get bigger, I’ll drive.”

“Yes, Rumi, when you are bigger you can drive.”

“When I get bigger, I’m going to wear a bra just like you –a blue bra.”

“My bras are white, because they don’t make them pretty in my size, Rumi, but you can probably have a nice blue bra.”

“When I get bigger, I will take a shower just like you and daddy. But now, I take a bath.”

“You’re right, Rumi, when you get bigger, you can take a shower.”

“When I get bigger, I can wear lip gloss.”

“When I get bigger, I’ll go to the school with all the kids.” She might be shocked when she finds out she will be home-schooled even though I”ve tried to explain it to her, and so far, she thinks it’s a good idea.

“When I get bigger, I will eat beef and drink coffee.”

“Ok, Rumi, when you get bigger you can eat beef and drink coffee if you wwant.”

“When I get bigger I can have an iPod, and I can listen to music.”

“When you get bigger Rumi, they will probably have better things than iPods.”

“When I get bigger,” She said once during a documentary, “Can I go to faraway places like Thailand like mama?”

“Sure Rumi, but you probably should take me with you.”

Then things started to get more complex.

“When I get bigger, and I can read, I can play Anais’ games.”

“You are right Rumi, but Rumi, you have to be big enough to wear underwear. Can we work on that first?”

“Ok, but when I get bigger, and I wear underwear, I’m going to type.”

Dream big, Rumi, Dream big.

About Ryn Cricket

When I talk to people, I always hear, "I always wanted to do that," or "You're so lucky!" I NEVER want to be the person who says those things. I am not lucky, I make things work. I don't think "I want to do that." I do it. When I was in the seventh grade I wanted to do three things when she grew up, I wanted to be an English teacher, a writer and a mother. All of that traveling, adventure, and Peace Corps was just research for what was to come. After more than twenty years of being told I would never be able to have children, I had two beautiful baby girls, a year and a half apart. I spend some of my time teaching English in Shanghai, China, and the rest of my time, inspiring my two little girls, or being inspired by writing at the writers’ workshop I call “home.”

One response »

Leave a Reply

